Chinese Knotting Home Page

[ Knots ][ Applications][ Books ][ Supplies ][ Links ][ Glossary ][ What's New ][ Blog ][ About ]

What's New

Tue Oct 05 12:53:17 PDT 2010

If you buy ye large tome of knots you'll generally find (along with all the sailing, climbing, and fishing knots) a section marked "decorative knots" (or fancy or ornamental). Contained therein are largely Chinese knots.

Chinese knots are, for the most part, two cord lanyard type arrangements where 2 cords enter from the top of the knot and 2 cords leave from the bottom. The knots are usually double-layered and symmetrical.

Lydia Chen lists 11 basic knots of Chinese Knotting in her first book. They are: the 4 Cloverleaf Knot, the 6 Cloverleaf Knot, the Chinese Button Knot , the Double Connection Knot, the Double Coin Knot, the Sauvastika Knot, the Cross Knot, the Square Knot, the Caisson Ceiling Knot, the 2x2 Mystic Knot, and the Good Luck Knot. While these are some of the most commonly used knots in Chinese knotting, my definition of basic is something else altogether.

Knot Families

The Cloverleaf Knot (酢漿草結, 几帳結び, 생쪽매듭)
The Stellar Knot
The Treasure Knot (Bao, 寶結)
The Chinese Button Knot (紐扣結, 玉結び, 연봉매듭)
The Connection Knot
The Mystic Knot
The Good Luck Knot (吉祥結, 菊結び, 동심결매듭)
The Double Coin Knot (雙錢結, 淡路結び)
The Turk's Head Knot
The Overhand Knot
The Cross Knot (十字結, 叶結び)
The Square Knot
The Monkey's Fist Knot
Sinnet or Knot Chains

Applied Knots

Basic Technique
Projects: Instructions someday. For now just pictures.
A Self-Teaching Plan

    Let the people again knot cords and use them...
excerpt from Lao Tzu 80
Member of theInternational Guild of Knot Tyers Sponsored by The Dao of Silk
Last Modified:Monday, 01-Jul-2024 01:54:52 UTC
Page accessed at local time: Sunday, 14-Jul-2024 14:30:37 UTC